Counseling

rise

Click here for the Counseling Newsletter

We are excited to welcome our Texans back to campus! 

Schedules will be available in HAC by the end of the day on 8/16.  Please note the following schedule changes guidelines.  We are not able to accommodate requests for specific lunches, class periods or changes in electives unless they meet one of the guidelines below.  If you have one of these issues that needs to be corrected, a parent needs to email the students counselor to have this corrected.  The window for level changes will open again on 9/7. 

Schedule Change Guidelines
Only schedules that meet the following criteria will be considered for changes:
- A change is needed to balance a class size.
- Seniors not enrolled in a course REQUIRED for graduation.
- Students scheduled in a course for which they already have credit.
- Student is enrolled in a course for which the student does not have the prerequisite.
- Student has an incomplete schedule.
- Student enrolled/not enrolled in an application/audition course for which they were approved.
- Student has failed a course and needs to repeat the course.
- Change is needed as a result of a credit earned in summer school or correspondence course.

Request to Exit Honors/AP/Dual Credit/Dual Enrollment Courses
Students may submit a request for a level change during the following times:
- August 1 through 4:00 PM the Tuesday BEFORE school starts.
- Exit Window will open again after the first three weeks IPR and close at the end of the day on
 September 25th.
- The last five days of the first semester.

Exit Guidelines for Dual Credit and Dual Enrollment Courses
1. Dual Credit and Dual Enrollment withdraw dates vary by institution. It is important that you pay
close attention to your institution’s guidelines for your withdraw decisions. In some cases you may
be issued a WD (withdraw), WP (withdraw passing), WF (withdraw Failing) or other coding that
will affect your college transcript. High School counselor (or designee) approval required.
2. Students who withdraw from a dual credit class for which there is a Honors or AP equivalent will be
given the option of moving into those classes or into an on-level class. The withdrawal grade earned
in the exited class will be substituted for assignments missed.
3. Students who wish to withdraw from a dual credit class for which there is no non-dual credit
equivalent will be placed in another course for which they may or may not receive high school
credit towards graduation.

 Stay Connected: 

          

Northwest ISD @NorthwestISD Northwest High School            @NHSTexans

Texan Counseling @TexanCounseling 


 

If you need immediate emergency assistance: Call 911

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline : 1-800-273-8255

Crisis text line: type HELP to 741-741 or text 817-355-3022


Northwest High School Counseling Department

 

Counselor

Students Served

Office Number

Email

Natalie Eddleman

Lead Counselor

A-B

817-698-1325

neddleman@nisdtx.org

Ashley Gaither

Counselor

C-F

817-215-0317

ashley.gaither@nisdtx.org

Kelly Wallace

Counselor

G-Kg

817-215-0201

kwallace@nisdtx.org

Michelle Delongchamps Counselor

Kh-M

817-698-5021

michelle.delongchamp@nisdtx.org

Emily Gentry

Counselor

N-Sa

817-215-0206

emily.gentry@nisdtx.org

Jessica Wallace

Counselor

Sb-Z

817-698-1280

jessica.wallace@nisdtx.org

Natalie Johnson

Intervention Counselor

All-referral

817-698-1066

natalie.johnson@nisdtx.org

Rachel Walker

Attendance Counselor

All-referral

817-698-1322

naomi.r.walker@nisdtx.org

 

Student Services Facilitator

All-referral

 

 

Habiba Lalani

College & Career Facilitator

A-L

817-698-5976

habiba.lalani@nisdtx.org

Melissa Furlow

College and Career Facilitator

M-Z

817-698-5847

melissa.furlow@nisdtx.org

Teri Balich

Registrar

A-L

817-215-0238

tbalich@nisdtx.org

Martha Gonzalez

Registrar

M-Z

817-215-0257

martha.gonzalez@nisdtx.org

Charlene Jackson

Counseling Secretary

All

817-698-1324

cjackson@nisdtx.org

Kathryn Allison

Student Records & PEIMS

All

817-215-0344

kallison@nisdtx.org

 


Did you miss the 8th grade parent presentation at your student's middle school?  See what you missed here: 
Graduation Requirement for Incoming 9th Graders