Counseling

the N

Request to Exit PreAP/AP/Dual Credit/Dual Enrollment Courses
Exit Guidelines for Pre-AP/AP/OnRamps Courses
1.) To exit a PreAP, AP or OnRamps course, parent/teacher/student conference must occur, and the student must confer with the counselor and principal or principal’s designee.
2.) A student that exits out of a PreAP/AP or OnRamps course will retain this grade in the new course. If a student exits with a grade below 70 in the original course, this will impact their UIL eligibility.
3.) Depending on graduation requirements and credits needed, students attempting to drop an AP, PreAP or OnRamps course for which there is no academic equivalent may result in the student remaining in the course until the conclusion of the Semester.
4.) Exiting a PreAP/AP or OnRamps course prior to the end of a semester will result in loss of weighted credit for the course.

In order to exit an advanced course, the following must occur:
- Attend documented tutorials and have all assignments completed.
- Parent/Teacher/Student conference.
- Parent-student conference with campus administration/counselor.
- Parents should email their student's counselor.  The counselor will then send the parent an electronic form to complete the request.

Request must be made by 4:10 pm on September 25, 2020. 

Your request may be approved or denied based on class seat count availability. If your request is denied, you will receive an email to your NISD email account. If you have any questions or concerns, you may schedule a conference with Dr. Bauter by contacting Mrs. Wolfe in the east office.

We Are Here To Help - NISD COVID-19 Counseling Resources 
____________________________________________________

 
Stay Connected: 

          

Northwest ISD @NorthwestISD Northwest High School            @NHSTexans

Texan Counseling @TexanCounseling 

_________________________________________________

If you need immediate emergency assistance: Call 911

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline : 1-800-273-8255

Crisis text line: type HELP to 741-741 or text 817-355-3022 ________________________________________________________________________



Natalie Eddleman

Lead Counselor

A-B

817-698-1325

neddleman@nisdtx.org

 

Ashley Gaither

Counselor

C-Gut

817-215-0317

ashley.gaither@nisdtx.org

 

Kelly Wallace

Counselor

Guv-Mar

817-215-0201

kwallace@nisdtx.org

 

Emily Gentry

Counselor

Mas-Rob

817-215-0206

emily.gentry@nisdtx.org

Jessica Wallace

Counselor

Roc-Z

817-698-1280

jessica.wallace@nisdtx.org

Teri Balich

Registrar

A-L

817-215-0238

 

tbalich@nisdtx.org

 

Lisa McCarley

Registrar

M-Z

817-215-0257

 

lmccarley@nisdtx.org

 

Daniela Bermea, LMSW

Intervention Counselor

All

817-698-1066

daniela.bermea@nisdtx.org

 

 Rachel Walker 
Truancy Intervention Counselor
All 817-698-1322

 naomi.r.walker@nisdtx.org

Alisen Adcock- Student Services

All

817-698-1240

 

aadcock@nisdtx.org

 

Kathryn Allison

Student Records & PEIMS

All

817-215-0344

 

kallison@nisdtx.org

 

Charlene Jackson

Counseling Secretary

All

817-698-1324

cjackson@nisdtx.org

Did you miss the 8th grade parent presentation at your student's middle school?  See what you missed here: 
Graduation Requirement for Incoming 9th Graders